Commission on Ministry

Every baptized Christian is called to ministry. Through its Commission on Ministry, the diocese helps members determine the nature of their calling, and whether it is best pursued as a layperson or through ordination to the diaconate or priesthood.  If you are exploring a call to ministry, whether lay or ordained, the Commission on Ministry is eager to work with you.

Are you interested in the Discernment Process? Here are a couple of helpful resources to get you started.

The Holy Order Process

There are 4 Major Steps in the Process of Discernment. To view each step, click the buttons below. To download the full Discernment Process Chart, click HERE

Application Forms

Additional Forms and Resources

Those exploring a call to ordination, or working with a person in discernment, will find the most recent editions of the Guidebooks by the Commission on Ministry (COM) and all related forms posted below. To get in touch with the commission, please contact Nadine Cole, COM Secretary.


The Rev. Hunter Ruffin, Co-chair (Church of the Epiphany, Tempe)
The Very Rev. Chad-Joseph Sundin, OBSCn, Co-chair (St. Augustine’s, Tempe)
Dr. Nadine Cole, Secretary (St. Matthew’s, Tucson)
The Rev. Gerardo Brambila (St. Christopher’s, Sun City)
The Rev. John Caleb Collins (Transfiguration, Mesa)
The Rev. Canon Holly Herring (St. Anthony on the Desert, Scottsdale)
Alex Leonard (St. Augustine’s, Tempe)
Deacon Chuck Milhoan (St. John the Baptist, Glendale)
Deacon Bola Oluluro (St. Luke’s at the Mountain, Phoenix)
Tammy Pursely (All Saints, Safford)
Dr. Pat Robinson (St. Andrew’s, Nogales)


The Rev. Canon Anita Braden, Canon to the Ordinary
The Venerable Amy Bryan, Archdeacon

Member list updated 11/6/2023