2022 Diocesan Convention Review

The Diocesan Convention meets annually to pass a budget, elect members to diocesan bodies, consider resolutions, and listen to an address by the bishop and reports from diocesan leaders.

The convention is more than simply a governance meeting, however. It is a vibrant gathering of people from across the diocese who participate in joyful worship, attend informative presentations, renew acquaintances, make new connections, and honor the outstanding ministries and the individuals who lead them.

Post Diocesan Convention Survey

For those of you who attended the 62nd Diocesan Convention, and for those of you who could not make it, please take a moment to fill out this survey on the Diocesan Convention. We want to hear from you!

To view all of the photos from the convention visit our Convention Photo Gallery

62nd Arizona Diocesan Convention – 2022

In 2022, The diocese of Arizona met in person at the El Conquistador – Hilton Resort, in Tucson AZ on October 21st and 22nd.

Theme: Reconciled in Christ – Becoming Beloved Community

Keynote Speaker

This year our keynote presentation was on racial reconciliation and was presented by The Rev. Isaiah “Shaneequa” Brokenleg. Click below to access some of the materials from the address and table discussions

Power Flower Handout

From the Pew to the Public Square – English version

From the Pew to the Public Square – Spanish version

To view the recording of the presentation and table discussion Visit our Youtube channel or click the button below. A Spanish-subtitled version will be available soon.

Videos from the convention can be found on the Episcopal Diocese of Arizona’s Youtube channel. Or you can click on the buttons below. Spanish language versions will be coming soon.

Para la versión en español, haga clic aquí

Para la versión en español, haga clic aquí

Convention Business


The following people were elected diocesan leadership positions:

Standing Committee – Clerical Order

  • The Rev. Alison Lee
  • The Rev. Gerardo Brambila

Standing Committee – Lay Order

  • Sara Haas
  • Mae Sinclair

Deputy to General Convention – Clerical Order

  • The Very Rev. Troy Mendez
  • The. Rev. Canon John Kitagawa
  • The Rev. Canon Anita Braden
  • The Rev. Dave Hedges, BSG
  • Alternates – The Rev. C. Hunter Ruffin & The Rev. Dr. Robin B. Hollis

Deputy to General Convention – Lay Order

  • Dawn Conley
  • Canon Judy Conley
  • Canon Clyde Kunz
  • Dan Packard
  • First Alternate – Cody Bro

Secretary of Convention

  • The Rev. Dr. Perry M. Pauley

Diocesan Treasurer

  • Suzy Mortenson


The following resolutions were adopted:


The following awards were given:

Good News Awards

  • The Rev. Monica Whitaker-Rector, Jean Valance-Senior Warden, Jim Hose-People’s Warden: St. Andrew’s Episcopal Church, Sedona, AZ
  • Mrs. Teresa Sosa, “Salud en Balance” (Health in Balance): Iglesia Episcopal de San Pablo

Honorary Canons

  • Archdeacon Sarah Getts
  • The Rev. Erika von Haaren

Senior Wardens of the Year

  • Helenor Webb, St. Peter’s, Casa Grande
  • Dennis (Nevada) Smith, St. Paul’s, Tombstone 
  • Don Henninger, Saint Barnabas, Scottsdale 
  • Kimball Shorty, St. Andrew’s, Glendale

Annual Reports

Download the 2022 Annual Reports to Convention

Convention Offering

This year’s Convention Offering was for the Veterans and Military Service Ministry. As of 10/31/2022 the total collected is $2,920.

2022 Year-in-Review Videos

During the dinner program this year, a 2022 Diocesan year-in-review video was screened. Also, during the business meeting, a look back at Chapel Rock events video was also screened. You can view both videos by clicking below: